Educational Grant Programmes for Citizens of the Members of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation and Non-Aligned Movement

“The Educational Grant Programme for the Citizens of the Member Countries of the Organization for Islamic Cooperation” and “The Educational Grant Programme for the Citizens of the Member Countries of the Non-Aligned Movement” were approved by the Decree No. 3457 of the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan on December 6, 2017 and Decree No. 3567 on January 10, 2018, respectively. The Educational Grant Programmes provide an opportunity for selected candidates on an annual basis to study in the leading universities of Azerbaijan at the preparatory courses, undergraduate, graduate, doctoral, general medicine/residency programmes.

Under the terms of the Educational Grant Programmes, it is expected to grant scholarships to 20 foreign students (40 students for both programs) on an annual basis. In total 200 foreign students will study in higher educational institutions of the Republic of Azerbaijan within a five-year program. The amount of educational grants includes tuition fees, monthly costs (visa, registration, dormitory or apartment rental, daily meals, provision of necessary teaching materials, transportation (except taxi), utilities, annual arrival departure from home country) and primary health care.

According to the results of admission for the educational grant programs in the 2018-2019 academic year, in total 40 citizens from 14 countries of Organization of Islamic Cooperation and 15 countries of Non-Aligned Movement have been eligible to study at the universities of the Republic of Azerbaijan.

Citizens of the following countries are currently studying in Azerbaijan in the framework of educational grant programmes.

Non-Aligned Movement: Chile, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Gambia, Lesotho, Mauritius, São Tomé and Principe, Swaziland, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Vanuatu, Uganda.

Organization of Islamic Cooperation: Afghanistan, Palestine, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Egypt, Mauritania, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Yemen.